NHL Rumors: NHL Unveils New Division Names For Start Of 2013-2014 NHL Season

The National Hockey League has decided on the names for its four divisions that will begin play for the upcoming 2013-2014 NHL season. The league will now have 16 teams residing in the Eastern Conference, made up of two eight-team divisions, while the Western Conference will feature 14 teams consisting of two seven-team divisions. Here are how the divisions for each conference break down:


Metropolitan Division:

Washington Capitals
Pittsburgh Penguins
Philadelphia Flyers
New Jersey Devils
New York Rangers
New York Islanders
Carolina Hurricanes
Columbus Blue Jackets

Atlantic Division:

Toronto Maple Leafs
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Buffalo Sabres
Detroit Red Wings
Boston Bruins
Florida Panthers
Tampa Bay Lightning


Central Division:

Winnipeg Jets
Chicago Blackhawks
Colorado Avalanche
Dallas Stars
Minnesota Wild
Nashville Predators
St. Louis Blues

Pacific Division:

Vancouver Canucks
Calgary Flames
Edmonton Oilers
San Jose Sharks
Los Angeles Kings
Phoenix Coyotes
Anaheim Ducks


Enhanced by Zemanta

About the author

Rob Kelley

Rob Kelley is a sports reporter for various newspapers in Florida, and is trying to break back into the sports writing game after a brief hiatus following the publishing of his first book, I'm Not a Quitter. He recently resigned as Editor-in-Chief and lead writer for The South Shore Magazine to pursue better opportunities. You can follow him on Twitter @RobKelley24.