2014 NCAA Baseball Tournament: Oregon State No. 1 Seed, While 10 SEC Teams Look To Reach CWS In Omaha

The field of 64 has been announced for the 2014 NCAA Baseball Tournament, with the Oregon State Beavers claiming the No. 1 overall seed. The Beavers will look to once again reach the College World Series in Omaha, and will also hope to bring the fifth national championship to the Pac-12 conference in the past nine seasons. Last season’s national champions – the UCLA Bruins – will not have a chance to defend their title, as injuries cost them a shot at a return to the tournament.

The selection committee had a difficult time determining which school should earn the No. 1 overall seed, yet gave the nod to Oregon State over the No. 2 Florida Gators and No. 3 Virginia Cavaliers. The fact that the Beavers won their conference tournament, while the Gators and Cavaliers failed to win their conference tournament, was probably the deciding factor.

The Indiana Hoosiers claimed the No. 4 seed, followed by the No. 5 Florida State Seminoles and No. 6 Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns. The No. 7 TCU Horned Frogs and No. 8 LSU Tigers round out the eight national seeds, which would earn the right to host the Super Regionals the following weekend if they are able to escape the Regional round that begins on Friday and Saturday.

Click here for a look at the full bracket, with this weekend’s double-elimination Regional winners facing off against each other next weekend in a best-of-three series that will determine the eight teams that will reach the CWS in Omaha.

Before filling out your bracket, you may want to peruse through a few of these notes:

* The ACC has not produced a national champion since the Wake Forest Demon Deacons won it way back in 1955. That does not bode well for Florida State or Virginia, as well as the five schools looking to end a historic slump.

Florida State is hosting a Regional for a record 31st time.

* The Miami Hurricanes are in the College Baseball Tournament for the 42nd consecutive season.

* Florida faced the most difficult schedule in the nation, while posting a record of 16-5 in one-run games.

* Like in college football, the SEC leads the way with 10 teams in the tournament.

Kennesaw State of the Atlantic Sun Conference and Sacramento State of the Western Athletic Conference are in the tournament for the first time.

Thirty-two of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Three teams with losing records are in after winning conference tournament titles: Youngstown State (16-36), Siena (25-31) and Bethune-Cookman (26-31). I wouldn’t bet on them advancing, but, you never know.




Enhanced by Zemanta

About the author

Rob Kelley

Rob Kelley is a sports reporter for various newspapers in Florida, and is trying to break back into the sports writing game after a brief hiatus following the publishing of his first book, I'm Not a Quitter. He recently resigned as Editor-in-Chief and lead writer for The South Shore Magazine to pursue better opportunities. You can follow him on Twitter @RobKelley24.